2018-2019 Undergraduate Academic Catalog 
    Sep 30, 2022  
2018-2019 Undergraduate Academic Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College of Arts and Humanities

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Schools and Departments


Dean of the Colleges: James Daichendt, Ed.D
Office: Bond Academic Center, Deans’ Suite
Telephone: (619) 849-2412
Fax: (619) 849-7018
Administrative Assistant: Kami Leone

General Information

The College of Arts and Humanities is at the very heart of liberal arts education at Point Loma Nazarene University. Programs in the arts and humanities are offered through five academic departments and the School of Theology and Christian Ministry. Course offerings in the arts and humanities are designed to help students explore a wide range of ideas. The college’s highly qualified faculty members are professionally active and committed to engaging students in the learning experience. By emphasizing the university’s mission to engage and challenge minds, to form and model character, and to see service as an expression of faith, the faculty challenge students to become life-long learners, to value the process of personal and intellectual development, and to give their lives in meaningful service to others.

Credential and Internship Programs

California Commission of Teacher Credentialing (CCTC) in single-subject arts and science content areas, Christian Ministries Internship, Institute for Holy Land Studies (a division of Jerusalem University College).


Point Loma Nazarene University maintains centers within the organization of the College of Arts and Humanities:

  • The Margaret Stevenson Center for Women’s Studies

Accreditations and Affiliations

Point Loma Nazarene University is accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission and the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). WASC may be contacted at 985 Atlantic Avenue, Suite 100, Alameda, CA 94501, or by telephone at 510-748-9001.

Academic Organization

The College of Arts and Humanities, under the direction of the dean of the college, functions with the supervision of academic departments, schools, and centers. The following is a list of chairs, directors, and deans in the college.


Department of Art and Design - David Carlson, chair
Department of Communication and Theatre - Skip Rutledge, chair
Department of History and Political Science - Lindsey Lupo, chair
Department of Literature, Journalism, and Modern Languages - Carol Blessing, chair
Department of Music - Daniel Jackson, co-chair; William Clemmons, co-chair


The Margaret Stevenson Center for Women’s Studies - Kelli McCoy, co-director; Kara Lyons-Pardue, co-director


Students should refer to the following pages in this Catalog for a complete listing of program characteristics, degree requirements, and descriptions of courses offered by academic areas within the College of Arts and Humanities.

College of Arts and Humanities

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Schools and Departments