2012-13 Undergraduate Catalog 
    Dec 09, 2022  
2012-13 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Philosophy and Theology, B.A.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Schools and Departments

Graduate theological education presumes broad learning across the curriculum with a concentration in a particular area. The major in Philosophy and Theology aims to prepare the student for graduate education by:

  • Introducing the student to philosophy and theology as intellectual disciplines;
  • Initiating the student into the central documents, beliefs, and practices of the Christian faith, both historical and contemporary; and
  • Providing flexibility to supplement the major with courses in complementary disciplines with the possibility of concentrated study in one area of interest.

Program Learning Outcomes

Students who complete the program in Philosophy and Theology will be able to:

  1. Apply philosophy and Christian theology to issues bearing on the church and human society.
  2. Summarize the historical development of the beliefs and practices of Christianity.
  3. Compose term papers that are well organized, use appropriate citation methods, and exhibit clear and coherent writing.
  4. Analyze primary and secondary sources and construct theologically and philosophically sound arguments.

Total: 11 Units


An additional 15 upper-division units in the School of Theology and Christian Ministry . (May not include BLA 337  or CMI 387 .) At least 6 of these 15 units must be in Philosophy courses (other than PHL 351 ).

Total: 25 Units

Major Total: 36 Units

The H. Orton Wiley Chair of Theology

For many years, Point Loma Nazarene University has benefitted from a succession of distinguished scholars as teachers in the field of Christian theology. These include A.M. Hills, Olive M. Winchester, and H. Orton Wiley. The creative and scholarly work of these persons made a distinct contribution to modern theology in the Wesleyan-Arminian tradition. To continue this tradition of scholarship, the H. Orton Wiley Chair of Theology was created in 1967. Scholars selected to fill this position have been Ross E. Price, Westlake T. Purkiser, and Herbert L. Prince.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Schools and Departments